a little poolside glamour

Recently I drove up the California Pacific coast (which is incredibly lovely by the way) and stopped to visit Heart Castle for the first time. I was totally excited to geek out over its history and architecture, and spent much of the tour giddily taking pictures and daydreaming about how glamorous it must have been to visit as a guest back in its heyday. If you ever have the chance to go, I recommend it just to see the outdoor Neptune Pool alone. So amazing! I had to resist an overwhelming urge to jump into the water just to say I had swam in such a regal place.

But for me, the highlight of the tour came at the very end when we visited the indoor Roman Pool. Seriously one of the most breathtaking interiors I have ever been in. It is tiled top to bottom in blue and gold mosaic glass tiles and decorated with marble Greek and Roman statues. The vibrant colors, sheer scale, and luminous mirror reflection of the entire room in the pool’s water, left me awe-struck and practically drooling with inspiration.

So glamorous! I’ve been obsessing over its architecture ever since and thus was delighted to see these images of an Art Deco swimming pool in France that was converted into a rather grand-looking museum.

It doesn’t quite top the Hearst Castle pools, but still that stained glass wall of the sun is pretty gorgeous. Art Deco was really a dreamy era for architecture, don’t you think?

{images 1, 2, 6, 7{images 3, 4, 5 by me!}

Leave a comment

Filed under architecture, travel

Leave a Reply

